Travel.

Shakshuka Shakedown.

CAMBRIDGE, MASSACHSSETTS.

I promise these posts will explore New York in due time – reality hit me really hard post-Europe.

When I visited Boston/ Cambridge for the first time in October ’13, my last meal before missing getting on the bus back to NYC was at Tatte Bakery (on Third) with my family. Before eating out, I have this habit of looking at the menu beforehand to narrow down what I want to eat, because when it comes to food, I tend to redefine ‘indecisiveness.’

And no, not because I’m picky. It’s because I want to eat e v e r y t h i n g.

You know how they say, always go with your gut? Well my stomach gut really came through last Fall. Part of our massive breakfast order was Tatte’s traditional shakshuka and several pistachio croissants. Although no one else seemed interested in the traditional version – they have another one made with a cream sauce – I was insistent. Thank you, belly.

Last weekend, before departing Massachusetts once again, I requested breakfast at Tatte. Chi Tam suggested going to her favorite cafe, Sofra, who also specializes in shakshuka. Done.

Let me say off the bat, both are lovely. The key to picking where you want to enjoy your shakshuka really depends on (1) how thick you want your tomatoes, and (2) the type of bread you feel like munching on.

SOFRA

20140713-153122-55882751.jpg

Now, Sofra’s base is more liquid/ soupy. I think the best way I can describe it, would be that it tastes like a sophisticated, herby tomato soup. Very simple, and very savory, and well-paired with the eggs, which were slightly on the runnier side. My favorite part was definitely the pesto-like bread we got that accompanied it (behind the ginger molasses cookie):

20140713-153539-56139384.jpg

If you go, make sure you get their fruit & yogurt parfait as well. It’s made with barley and it’s FABULOUS.

TATTE
After we finished up at Sofra, we hustled over to Tatte on Third – yes, this family knows how to eat! – where we sampled their traditional shakshuka, again.

Here, the tomato base is a lot thicker, with chunks of tomato and the eggs seem to be more baked in, as opposed to baked atop. It also comes with crumbled feta (amazing addition) and toasted french bread. At Tatte, the tomato base is the winner, by far, for my tongue. A little richer and a little more earthy.

20140713-154041-56441976.jpg

– – –

While I enjoyed both, I lean a little more towards Tatte’s shakshuka. It shiuld be known, however, that this past year has had me craving for tomatoes, and Tatte’s version delivers exceptionally in that ingredient 🙂

Important to note that both eateries also serve lunch foods – foods i have yet to sample. Until next time !

xx

Sofra Cafe
1 Belmont Street, Cambridge, MA
(617) 661-3161

Tatte Bakery on Third
318 3rd Street (Kendall Square/MIT) Cambridge, MA
(617) 661-3161

Leave a Reply

