Eats.

Sammy snob (no more).

SammySnob_2

CHINATOWN, NEW YORK.

So I have a confession. I am a sandwich snob.

Wait, let me explain.

I am a Vietnamese sandwich snob – a banh mi gourmand, if you will.

Actually, I’m a snob about Vietnamese food on the East Coast in general (save anything homemade). Before you cast stones, I grew up stuffing my face with in the presence of the best quality Vietnamese food.

(That is fact, by the way.)

To make matters worse, I also rarely ever eat out. I know what you’re thinking: you live in New York City – home of the best restaurants, cafes, and food trucks, and you never eat out!? Are you crazy or just poor?

To answer your rampant thoughts: I just really love to cook. (And despite the all of the water, sunlight, and love I tend, my money tree seed just refuses to sprout.)

* * *

But then it happened. My craving for ‘food from home’ became too obnoxious to ignore. Upon recommendation – via Yelp, word of mouth, my stomach – I met up with a few friends to check out one of the city’s best banh mi establishments has to offer.

Banh Mi Saigon – on Grand Street, between Mulberry & Mott – has a no fuss, no frills storefront. As bare basics as they can look – including or excluding the side jewelry store inside, your choice – the money is in the food that crosses the register. They offer four basic meals: sandwiches (banh mi), noodles (bun), spring/summer rolls (goi cuon), and salad (goi) with a variety of toppings.

My friends had the #1 – BBQ pork banh mi – while I opted for #2, Grilled chicken banh mi (hold the mayo, and spicy. Read: jalapeño slices). UM, a picture is worth a thousand words:

SammySnob_1

Chicken was phenomenal. Bread was a decent combination of flakey and fluffy. Pickled and daikon carrots were delicious (although I have yet to come across otherwise, ever in life). And a lot of cilantro – just how mama likes it.

While I could have appreciated more seating options – lunch time gets BUSYI’m pretty sure I could have made space for a second sammy.

* * *

The catch(es):

  1. I grabbed two dessert dishes – banana (che chuoi) & sweet corn tapioca (che bap) – and I was less than impressed. The banana, my favorite, actually had plantains 😦 Plantains are not bananas, people! The sweet corn, however, was not bad! Not the best, but definitely not bad!
  2. The are open everyday, but close at 6PM. Everyday. I live 100+ blocks away. This proves issue.

The final cut: Stick to the main course. Find dessert elsewhere*.

Needless to say, I am slightly less snobby now.

xx

*They DO have other dessert options…that I plan on indulging in, in the near future.

Banh Mi Saigon
http://www.banhmisaigonnyc.
198 Grand Street, New York, NY 10003

Leave a Reply

