Musings.

A sunrise.

NEW YORK. CALIFORNIA. & all the states between.

image

I’ve been spending the last eight months
Thinking all love ever does is break and burn and end
But on a Wednesday in a cafe I watched it begin again
– Taylor Swift


Thanksgiving 2011.

“What? Don’t you love me?”
“I’m not sure anymore.”


To the nonbelievers, the impatient, and the jaded – I won’t ever tell you that you are wasting your time. There are just some heartbreaks that you never recover from.

Because what do you do – after 8 years of fighting for a love that you couldn’t let go – when you learn that it was for not? A love that killed your self confidence, deteriorated your understanding of trust, and nearly ripped your family apart? A love that taught you your most valuable lessons of self? A love that, when you finally set it free, was so eroded by infidelity, anger, and just plain stupidity – it was like sand falling through your fingers.

Growth is never easy. Take it from the oldest daughter of a family that vigilantly protects their own (read: permission to watch a PG-13 movie when I was 15 was my idea of an argument worth raising my voice for).  But growing from a true failure? That’s a feat for the patient.

Patience. A virtue most foreign.

* * *

If I may be candid, the last few Easters have become synonymous with my best friend, Indian food & our annual viewing of The Sound of Music.

That story is for another time.

Albeit not religious, I definitely find unspoken comfort in honoring a sense of faith and spirituality – so you’d think I’d be a little better about celebrating what Easter is all about. You know, in between quoting the Von Trapps and samosas.

* * *

When it comes to sunrises and sunsets, I will always opt for the former. There is something truly incredible about watching a pitch black night sky dissolving into pinks, oranges, and life. In essence, Easter is like a sunrise, isn’t it?

And the best part is that you get the chance to let this light into your life every day. A chance to rise up & begin again.


December 2015.

“I think the universe pities me.
—My latest match is super cute…SO what are the odds he likes country too”

“HAHAHA happy Tuesday!
—He’s cute”


It started with beers, tacos & a 2AM goodnight. Chopsticks, grocery shopping & a bloody movie. Omelets. Mint tea & a chai latte in a cafe on a rainy afternoon. A concert and a kiss to end life as I knew it.

So much to celebrate this sunrise: light, life, and love.

“In His great mercy, He has given new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ.” (1 Peter 1:3)

 

 

xx

 

 

One thought on “A sunrise.

  1. Pingback: Friday Five: Vol. 14 | EYEWINKED*

Leave a Reply

