Musings.

#tbt: With your own two hands.

As my little brother plans a trip out East to visit his big sister on our favorite holiday, this felt only appropriate.


On 12006217_10205926448254412_5290459724010056135_nApril 25th & 30th, 1975, my mom & dad, respectively, left Vietnamese soil.

Forty-one years ago, my parents & their families left their home in hopes of brighter futures. And for forty-one years, my parents have silently thanked this beloved country for giving them a freedom & opportunities they would only dream of otherwise.

For as long as I can remember, we have had an American flag hanging outside of our house. You may bleed red, but we also bleed white and blue. My siblings and I grew up being taught to #neverforget that you can be whoever you want to be & you can do whatever you want to do – as long as you are kind and willing to work hard.

As long as you are willing to put in the work with your own two hands.

Life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness – a luxury only given by the Stars and Stripes.

On September 12th, 2015, I honored this moment in their history with ink – written by their own two hands, their departure dates will be a part of me forever.

artist: Javier | @marksofart
photo: @drew_ton_

Leave a Reply

